Mon Feb 18, 2019 | 19:30
S African Beukes wins AC Clarke Award
Sun, 01 May 2011 05:50:21 GMT
Font size :
Zoo City, written by Lauren Beukes.
South African writer Lauren Beukes' Zoo City has won the prestigious Arthur C. Clarke Award for best science fiction novel of the year.

Zoo City, Beukes' third book, which was one of 54 novels submitted for the award, depicts a future Johannesburg where criminals have partnered with animals and is subject to a new apartheid.

This was the 25th presentation of the award, which was first won by Margaret Atwood, the Canadian writer, for her novel, The Handmaid's Tale in 1987.

The Capetonian author, 34, is the ninth woman who has won the award.

The book was published by Angry Robot Books.

Other winners of the award include China Mieville who won three times, the last being in 2010 for his novel The City and The City, as well as Ian McDonald for The Dervish House, Guardian reported.

The book is selected by a panel of judges from the British Science Fiction Association, the Science Fiction Foundation and a third organization.

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is a British award given for the best science fiction novel first published in the UK. The award was established with a grant from the renowned science fiction author.

Your Name
Your Comment
Enter the code shown
terms of use

  • last 24 hours
  • last week
  • last month
© 2009 Press TV. All rights reserved.